Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
May 30, 2023
IAFF Local Newswire
Join the Newswire!
Updated: May. 30 (04:06)

2023 Uniformed Professional Fire Fighters Association of Connecticut Scholarship Recipients
Memorial Day 2023 | Thank You
IAFF Local 21
May 25, 2023: West Haven Fire Fighters, Local 1198 Workers’ Compensation Education Seminar
Info on HB 106-Increase in Public Employee Pension Max
Albuquerque Area Fire Fighters
Local 21 Regrets to Announce the Passing of Retired Firefighter Tom Bilek
IAFF Local 21
Vote for Proposed Constitution & Bylaw Amendments
Albuquerque Area Fire Fighters
PFFM 60th Anniversary
Updated On: Feb 24, 2006

Brockton One of Original Six


(This article is from the Professional Firefighters of Massachusetts)


December 12, 1945              -           December 12, 2005


 The Massachusetts State Federation of Labor convention was held in Cambridge, Massachusetts on October 27,1945 and at that time and place the fire fighter delegates held a meeting of their own for the purpose of forming a state fire fighters association. It was during this meeting that six bold, determined and very progressive Massachusetts I.A.F.F. Local Unions agreed to organize and join a state association. The six locals represented the fire fighters from the communities of Boston, Brockton, Cambridge, Gloucester, Lynn and Springfield.

On December 12, 1945 the International Association of Fire Fighters granted a charter to the newly formed Associated Fire Fighters of Massachusetts. At the time the International Association of Fire Fighters granted the charter there were twelve locals in Massachusetts that were affiliated with the IAFF and they were: Boston, Brockton, Cambridge, Gloucester, Holyoke, Lawrence, Lynn, New Bedford, Newburyport, Northampton, Quincy, and Springfield.

The Associated Fire Fighters of Massachusetts held their first State Convention at the Hotel Kimball, in Springfield, Massachusetts on September 10, 1947. Sixty-two delegates and six alternates were in attendance and they represented locals from fourteen cities and towns. The members attending were from Attleboro, Boston, Brockton, Cambridge, Everett, Lawrence, Lowell, Lynn, New Bedford, Newton, Peabody, Quincy, Springfield, and Waltham. The delegate body assembled elected Arvid G. Anderstrom of Springfield Local 648 as the first President and Joseph F. O'Brien of Boston Local 718 as the first Secretary - Treasurer of the Associated Fire Fighters of Massachusetts. For the next twelve years the Associated Fire Fighters of Massachusetts met annually and in 1959 the delegates assembled voted to hold their State Conventions every other year which has been the policy we continue today with our biennial conventions.

The Associated Fire Fighters of Massachusetts was originally comprised of four districts to serve the Union Fire Fighters of the Commonwealth and those districts represented the Southern, Northern, Metropolitan and Western areas of Massachusetts. In 1975 at the Convention held in Hyannis the delegates voted to change the name to the Professional Fire Fighters of Massachusetts as of January 1, 1976. At the same convention the delegates voted to open a State office. On June 4, 1975 the P.F.F.M. office opened at 130 Bowdoin Street, Boston Massachusetts. 

 In 2005 we celebrated our 60th anniversary.   We now have nearly two hundred IAFF locals in eight districts and represent over 12,000 union fire fighters across the Commonwealth. We are one of the most respected and revered Labor Unions in the Commonwealth with a powerful Beacon Hill lobby built upon the hard work of our predecessors. For their tireless efforts, astute leadership and infinite wisdom, we gratefully thank them!



Member Login


Not registered yet?
Click Here to sign-up

Forgot Your Login?
<< May 2023 >>
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
<< May 2023 >>
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Important Links
Brockton Firefighers Pipe & Drum Band
Comm. of Mass.
Mass. Legislature
City of Brockton
IAFF Directory of Locals
FF Near-Miss Reporting
Southeastern Mass. EMS Council
IAFF Local Directory
Fire Engineering
Plymouth Bristol Central Labor Council
U.S. House of Representatives

Site Search
Site Map
RSS Feeds
Brockton Firefighters Local 144
Copyright © 2023, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

359539 hits since Jan 24, 2006

Top of Page image